ESBiomech24 Congress in Edinburgh

ESB Early Career Research Award

The ESB Early Career Researcher Award, initiated in 2023, recognizes the development of an outstanding young researcher in the process of career consolidation, who contributes to the advancement of the theory and/or applications of Biomechanics and/or mechanobiology. This award  should cover specific costs associated to the activities of the awardee (e.g. consulting support to write grants, mobility, open access fees for publications…).

Deadline for receipt of nominations for 2024 ESB Early Career Research Award coincides with the closing date for abstract submission for the yearly ESB Congress (January 31st, 2024). In order to enter the competition, applicants must apply in the online Congress submission portal by clicking the ESB Early Career Researcher Award box and submitting all of the required files.

The selection will be based on (i) a submitted abstract to the yearly ESB conference, (ii) a narrative CV (2 pages, see template) and (iii) a letter to describe how the award will be used. The award will be judged by an ad hoc Award Committee appointed by the ESB Council and chaired by the ESB Awards Committee Chairperson. The award includes an honorarium of €3,500 and a certificate. The winner will also be requested to present an award lecture at the following ESB Congress.

ESB Early Career Researcher Award candidates must be an ESB member in good standing from at least six months at the time of submission. Please check your membership and payment status before applying for this award.

Eligible candidates are those who have defended their PhD from 2 to 7 years at the date of the ESB conference (considering career breaks due to pregnancy, illness or other reasons).

Application PROCEDURE: For consideration, the candidate must submit electronically an abstract through the webportal of the yearly Congress, together with the required documents. The candidate must be an ESB member, who must also be first author of the abstract. For detailed information on eligibility and the selection procedure, please refer to the Awards Regulations.  If you need clarifications, you may contact the Awards Committee Chair.

CONGRATULATIONS to our 2023 winner!

2023 Dr Hans Kainz, University of Vienna

Corporate members of the ESB:

AMTI force and motion logo
Beta CAE logo
BoB Biomechanics logo
Materialise logo
Nobel Biocare logo