Best Doctoral Thesis in Biomechanics

Best PhD in biomechanics award.

The Best Doctoral Thesis in Biomechanics recognizes the development of an outstanding doctoral final thesis that has contributed to the advancement of the theory and/or applications of Biomechanics. The selection will be based on the original PhD document (written in English) and associated CV. The award will be judged by an ad hoc Award Committee appointed by the ESB Council and chaired by the ESB Awards Committee Chairman. The award includes an honorarium of €2,000 and a certificate. The winner will also be requested to present an award keynote lecture at the following ESB Congress.

ESB Doctoral award candidates must be an ESB member in good standing at the time of submission.

Eligible candidates are those who have defended their PhD in the period 1st January 2018 – 31st January 2019.

The deadline for receipt of nominations to be awarded during the 2019 ESB Yearly Congress  is January 31st 2019.

Application PROCEDURE:

Applications are invited until 31st January 2019 and should submitted as follows:

(a) please complete the application form, which involves the submission of the thesis abstract for preliminary evaluation (max 2 pages), and

(b) attach a letter of recommendation from the supervisor outlining how and why the candidate is worthy of this European Society of Biomechanics distinction.

(c) submit a complete CV, a pdf document of the complete final PhD thesis (max 10 MB), and a pdf document of the Abstract alone, all presented in English

(d) email all documents to the chair of the Awards Committee: Prof. Luca Cristofolini: Please name all your documents lastname_firstname_documentname.pdf.

Note: applying for the Doctoral Award does not automatically imply that your paper will be presented during the ESB yearly congress: only the award winner will present his/her work in a dedicated plenary lecture.  If you wish to submit a paper for the ESB yearly congress, you should do so through the Congress portal, as a separate process.

——————————- ANNOUNCEMENT ——————————-

The Award Committee is pleased to announce that the winner of the ESB Best Doctoral Thesis in Biomechanics Award 2018 is:

2018 – Miguel Ángel Ariza-Gracia (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
“Methods for characterising patient-specific corneal biomechanics”
Supervisors: Begoña Calvo Calzada and José Félix Rodríguez Matas

2018 – Runners-up award:

  • Niklas Konig Ignasiak, ETH Zürich, Switzerland


PAST WINNERS of the ESB Best Doctoral Thesis in Biomechanics

2017 – Lorenzo Grassi (Lund University, Sweden)
“Femoral strength prediction using finite element models: validation of models based on CT and reconstructed DXA against full-field measurements.” Supervisors: Assoc Prof Hanna Isaksson and Prof Matti Ristinmaa

2017 – Runners-up award:

  • Vahid Arabi, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Petri Tanska, University of Eastern Finland, Finland

2016 – Loes Derikx (KU Leuven)
“Femoral fracture risk prediction in metastatic bone disease”
Supervisors: Prof. dr. ir. N. Verdonschot & Prof. dr. I. Jonkers

2015 – Aurélie Carlier (KU Leuven)
“Multi-scale modelling of angiogenesis during bone regeneration”
Supervisors: Prof. Hans van Oosterwyck and Prof. Liesbet Geris

2014 – Carlos Borau Zamora (University of Zaragoza)
“Multiscale computational modeling of single cell migration in 3D”,
Supervisors: José Manuel García-Aznar & Roger D. Kamm

2013 – Angelo Karunaratne (Queen Mary University of London, UK) “Analysis of alterations in matrix quality at nanoscale in metabolic bone diseases using synchrotron x-ray diffraction”
Supervisor: Dr Himadri Gupta. 

2012 – Sandra Loerakker (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, the Netherlands) “The relative contributions of muscle deformation and ischaemia to pressure ulcer development”
Supervisors: Prof. F.P.T. Baaijens and D.L. Bader.