ESB Awards

The mission of the European Society of Biomechanics (ESB) is to promote excellence in biomechanics research, to foster integration of clinical and basic science, and to facilitate the translation of that science to health care and clinical practice.

One way in which ESB supports its mission and promotes excellence is by recognition of outstanding members with prestigious awards given at the ESB Congress. All ESB members are eligible for the awards below, except as restricted by specific award criteria. For detailed information on submissions and nominations, please refer to the Awards Regulations or contact the Awards Committee Chairman (below):

ESB Awards Committee Chairperson

Markus Heller, Ph.D.
Professor of Biomechanics
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Southampton

Email: or

Summary of the Awards Program of the European Society of