ESBiomech24 Congress in Edinburgh

Publication Committee: Bernardo Innocenti

Bernardo Innocenti

Université Libre de Bruxelles – École polytechnique de Bruxelles

BEAMS Department (Bio Electro and Mechanical Systems)


Bernardo Innocenti is Professor of Biomechanics at the BEAMS Department, ULB (Universitè Libre de Bruxelles), Belgium.
He studied Mechanical Engineering (2002) and, in 2006, he received a Ph.D. in Mechanical Design (both from University of Florence). From 2007-2012 he worked as Lead Project Manager at the European Centre for Knee Research, Smith & Nephew – Leuven, Belgium. Since 2012 he has been working at ULB as an Associate Professor (2012) and Professor (2020). Moreover, since 2011 is guest professor at Division of Biomechanics, Department of Mechanical Engineering, KU Leuven, Heverlee, Belgium and since 2022 is visiting professor at Department of Chemistry, Materials and Chemical Engineering “Giulio Natta”, Politecnico di Milano, Milan.
Bernardo Innocenti main research field is the Orthopaedic biomechanics, in particular the numerical and experimental analysis and investigation of the human knee joint in native, pathologic and replaced conditions; in this field he is author/co-author of more than 100 articles in international peer-reviewed journals, 7 book chapters, 1 book and 3 patents.

He acts as reviewer for most journals in the field of orthopaedic and biomechanics. He is associate editor of Journal of Arthroplasty, of Journal Orthopaedic Surgery and Research and of Frontiers in Biomechanics. He is Member of the Editorial Board of MLTJ – Muscle, Ligament and Tendon Journal and of Journal of Medical and Biological Engineering.

He is member of the European Society of Biomechanics (2010), Founder and First President of Belgian Chapter of the International Society for Computer-Assisted Orthopaedic Surgery (CAOS – 2015), the European Knee Society (2016), the European Society of Sport Traumatology, Knee Surgery and Arthroscopy (2016) and European Knee Associates (2018).
Bernardo Innocenti has received several awards including the Marc Coventry Award (2009) and the Richard S. Laskin Research Award (2011).

Corporate members of the ESB:

AMTI force and motion logo
Beta CAE logo
BoB Biomechanics logo
Materialise logo
Nobel Biocare logo