ESBiomech24 Congress in Edinburgh

ESB award announcements

Best Thesis Award 2016

The ESB is pleased to announce that Loes Derikx has been awarded the ESB Best Thesis Award 2016 for her thesis entitled “FemLD_151119oral fracture risk prediction in metastatic bone disease.” Loes Derikx studied Biomedical Sciences at the Radboud University in Nijmegen. She conducted her PhD studies at the Orthopaedic Research Lab of the Radboud university medical center Nijmegen, within the Radboud Institute for Health Sciences, and in the Human Movement Biomechanics Research Group of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven.

In her PhD project, Loes developed and validated a patient-specific finite element model to improve fracture risk prediction in patients with cancer and femoral bone metastases. The model was validated again
st mechanical experiments and prospective patient data using physiological loading conditions derived from musculoskeletal models. Finite element models were able to predict the strength of femurs with metastatic lesions, suggesting that these models could be developed into a clinical tool to improve fracture risk prediction in patients with metastatic bone disease. The outcomes of his work include some 6 peer reviewed journal manuscripts and a number of awards. All reviewers agreed that she has managed to present a lovely piece of work, which was well worthy of winning the 2016 Best Thesis Award.

Loes will present her work in an award keynote lecture at the upcoming ESB Congress in Lyon.


Student Award 2016

The 2016 Student Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the 4 finalists to compete for the 2016 ESB Student Award will be:

The final award winner will be decided based on each candidate’s presentation at the ESB Congress in Lyon, graded according to a secret ballot held by all the meeting delegates attending the award lectures.


Clinical Biomechanics Award 2016

The 2016 Clinical Biomechanics Award Committee is pleased to announce that the 4 finalists to compete for the 2016 Clinical Biomechanics Award will be:



Mimics Innovation Award

We are pleased to announce that the Mimics Innovation Award will now become an ESB corporate award where 4 finalists will compete for the Award in a dedicated session at the congress.

Read more…


As you can all appreciate, the time and effort required for reviewing the extensive material submitted to these various awards is considerable. I would therefore like to personally thank all of the reviewers who have been involved in this year’s awards for making my task easy. There was very little convincing or chasing involved, and yet there has been fair and objective discussion in order to ensure the correct decisions. I am very grateful to you all.


I look forward to seeing you all in Lyon!


   William R.Taylor, ETH Zurich, 2016

Corporate members of the ESB:

AMTI force and motion logo
Beta CAE logo
BoB Biomechanics logo
Materialise logo
Nobel Biocare logo