ESBiomech24 Congress in Edinburgh

ESB Award Announcements

Prizes and Honours Awarded during WCB 2018 in Dublin

S M Perren Award 2018

Stefaan W Verbruggen, Bernhard Kainz, Susan C Shelmerdine, Owen J Arthurs, Joseph V Hajnal, Mary A Rutherford, Andrew T Phillips, Niamh C Nowlan for the work entitled: “Altered Biomechanical Stimulation of the Developing Hip Joint in Presence of Hip Dysplasia Risk Factors. The work has primarily been carried out at Imperial Collage London, UK.

Clinical Biomechanics Award 2018

Philipp Damm, Jip Zonneveld, Sophie Brackertz, Florian Streitparth, Tobias Winkler (Julius Wolff Institute, Charité, Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany) with the paper“Gluteal muscle damage leads to higher in vivo hip joint loads 3 months after total hip arthroplasty”

Best Doctoral Thesis 2018

The winner was Miguel Ángel Ariza-Gracia (University of Zaragoza, Spain) for the PhD thesis “Methods for characterising patient-specific corneal biomechanics”. Supervisors: Begoña Calvo Calzada and José Félix Rodríguez Matas. The runner-up in this category was Niklas Konig Ignasiak, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Student Award 2018

The winner was Duncan Betts from ETH Zurich for the work “A three-dimensional multiscale model of fracture healing in mice: Sensitivity of callus microstructure to osteoblast polarization and initial MSC density”. The other finalists were Graeme Paul, Andrea Mainardi and Arsalan Marghoub

Best Poster Award 2018

The poster award could not take place during the World Congress this year.

Travel Awards

The purpose of the Travel Awards is to financially help young researchers to participate at the ESB Congress. The Award consists of a certificate and an amount of 400 €, which is expected to be used for travel, accommodation and living expenses during the meeting. To encourage participation at the World Congress, 27 Travel Awards were assigned in 2018:
Alex Ireland, Aurélie Levillain, Chloe Audebert, Yin Chang, Surabhi Sonam, Johanna Melke, Alice Spenlehauer, Kaj Emanuel, Giovanni Rossini, Daniela Warnecke, Pim Oomen, Florian Schall, Chrysovalantis Voutouri, Darshan Shah, Cristian Parisi, Selda Sherifova, Mark Heyland, Gabriele Nasello, Lorenzo Grassi, Steffi Van Hees, Amelie Sas, Sophie Le Cann, Gil Serrancolí, Simona Seminati, Matteo Selmi, Benjamin Delpuech, Filippo Piatti


The time and effort required for reviewing the extensive material submitted to these various awards is considerable. We would therefore like to personally thank all of the reviewers who have been involved in this year’s awards for making my task easy. There was very little convincing or chasing involved, and yet there has been fair and objective discussion in order to ensure the correct decisions. We are very grateful to you all. – Luca Cristofolini and Hanna Isaksson

ESB Mobility Award 2018

The Mobility award this year was assigned to:
Johanna Melke and Laura Baumgartner.
This award is administered and reported by the student committee

Corporate members of the ESB:

AMTI force and motion logo
Beta CAE logo
BoB Biomechanics logo
Materialise logo
Nobel Biocare logo