ESBiomech24 Congress in Edinburgh

News from the ESB Austrian Chapter

The Austrian Chapter of the ESB was successfully inaugurated on October 1st 2015. 7 active ESB members in Austria were present. The executive board: Prof. Dr. Werner Schmölz (Medical University Innsbruck), Prof. Dr. Christian Hellmich (TU Wien) and Prof. Dr. Philipp Thurner (TU Wien) has been confirmed and has elected Philipp Thurner as its president.

Further by-laws were amended to specify a quorum for future meetings as well as regulating the maximum continuous duration of board membership.

Three mission statements were agreed on:

Enhanced cross-disciplinary exchange throughout Austria, on biomechanics and mechanics-related processes in biological systems.

Public promotion of biomechanics as a tool to aid restoration and improvement of physiological function in health and disease.

To foster Austria’s role as a country of scientific, clinical and industrial excellence in the field of biomechanics.

The next general assembly of the Austrian National Chapter is planned for 2017 in Innsbruck.

Corporate members of the ESB:

AMTI force and motion logo
Beta CAE logo
BoB Biomechanics logo
Materialise logo
Nobel Biocare logo