Corporate members news

Mimics Innovation Award Winners 2017

The nominees for the Mimics Innovation Award 2017 (Europe. Middle East and Africa, EMEA, region) gave presentations during the 23rd Congress of the European Society of Biomechanics in Seville, Spain.

The winners were:

  • 1st Prize Winner EMEA and Global Winner (Monetary Prize 5000 €)

Dr. David Randall and Dr. Peter Metherall (University of Sheffield, UK)
“The Oculus Rift Virtual Colonoscopy: Introducing a new Technology and Initial Impressions”


  • 2nd Winner EMEA (Monetary Prize 1500 €)

Prof. Laszlo Kovacs and Jalil Jalali (Technical University of Munich – Germany)
“Three-dimensional prediction of free-flap volume in autologous breast reconstruction by CT angiography imaging”

From left to right: Jalil Jalali (Second EMEA winner), Dr. David Randall (First EMEA Winner), Associate Professor Hanna Issakson (ESB Vice President and Awards Chair), Dr. Zahra Asgharpour (Product Manager Academia, Materialise N.V.), Dr. Peter Metherall (University of Sheffield, UK), Dr. Hans Kainz (Katholieke Unieversiteit Leuven, Belgium), Dr. Ran Sopher (Imperial College London, UK), Prof. Stephen Ferguson (ESB President)

The two runners-up this year received a Travel Grant of 500 € to cover their travel cost for presenting at ESB congress:

  • Dr. Hans Kainz (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) “Joint kinematic calculation based on clinical direct kinematic versus inverse kinematic gait models”
  • Dr. Ran Sopher (Imperial College London, UK) “The anatomy of the infrapatellar fat pad and its deformation during knee motion – as measured through dissection and MR imaging”


The call for Mimics Innovation Award will open soon, if you are interested to find out more please look at our website:

We are looking forward to receiving your papers in 2018.