ESBiomech24 Congress in Edinburgh

Prizes and Honours Awarded at the ESB2016

S M Perren Award 2016

PK Zysset, J Schwiedrzik, U Wolfram (Bern, Switzerland) “A statistical damage model for bone tissue based on distinct compressive and tensile cracks”

Clinical Biomechanics Award 2016

GM Bosi, C Capelli, MH Cheang, N Delahunty, M Mullen, AM Taylor, S Schievano (London, United Kingdom) “A patient-specific computational model of TAVR validated in 28 patients”

Best Thesis Award 2016

2016 – Loes Derikx (Leuven, Netherlands)

“Femoral fracture risk prediction in metastatic bone disease”

Supervised by Prof Dr Ir N Verdonschot & Prof Dr I Jonkers

Student Award 2016

The two winners were:

Zhao Ying Cui with “Two rail shear test on human bridging veins” and

Emiel van Dusseldorf for “Wall stress analysis and mechanics and Mechanical Characterization Of Abdominal Aortic Aneurysms Using 4d-ultrasound

Runners up were Dana Solav and Koichiro Maki

Best Poster Award

We are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2016 Best Poster Award was:

Agathe Ogier with “Mechanical properties of healthy and osteogenesis imperfecta children bones”

Travel Awards

The purpose of the Travel Awards is to financially help young researchers to participate at the ESB Congress. The Award consists of a certificate and an amount of 400 €, which is expected to be used for travel, accommodation and living expenses during the ESB meeting. Winners of the ESB 2016 Travel Awards were as follows:


Andris Piebalgs United Kingdom
Melika Mohammadkhah Ireland
Zhao Ying Cui Belgium
Koichiro Maki Japan
Rukmani Sridharan Ireland
Cristina Falcinelli Canada
Enrico De Pieri Switzerland
Naiara Rodriguez Florez United Kingdom
Francesco Sturla Italy
Chee Hau Leow United Kingdom
Luca Modenese Australia
Sara Oliviero United Kingdom
Tito Bassani Italy
Carlo Massaroni Italy
Soran Aminiaghdam Germany

For the Materialise Mimics Innovation Awards, see here


The time and effort required for reviewing the extensive material submitted to these various awards is considerable. We would therefore like to personally thank all of the reviewers who have been involved in this year’s awards for making my task easy. There was very little convincing or chasing involved, and yet there has been fair and objective discussion in order to ensure the correct decisions. We are very grateful to you all.

Bill Taylor and Hanna Isaksson

Corporate members of the ESB:

AMTI force and motion logo
Beta CAE logo
BoB Biomechanics logo
Materialise logo
Nobel Biocare logo