Scientific Topics

All contributions (oral and poster) have to be assigned to a congress topics/tracks during the abstract submission:


TR01: Ageing

Track Chairs: Stephen FERGUSON (ETH Zürich, Switzerland), Marco VICECONTI (University of Bologna, Italy)


TR02: Animal biomechanics

Track Chairs: Giuseppe BALDUZZI (Vienna University of Technology – TU Wien, Austria), Christian PEHAM (University of Veterinary Medicine Vienna, Austria)


TR03: Biomaterials
(endorsed by the European Society for Biomaterials)

Track Chairs: Aldo BOCCACCINI (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany), Heinz REDL (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Experimental and Clinical Traumatology, Austria)


TR04: Biomechatronics and humanoid robotics

Track Chair: Winfried MAYR (Medical University of Vienna, Austria)


TR05: Biorheology and biotribology

Track Chair: Michael BRYANT (University of Leeds, UK)


TR06: Cardiovascular biomechanics

Track Chairs: Stephane AVRIL (École de Mines St. Etienne, France), Umberto MORBIDUCCI (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)


TR07: Cellular and sub-cellular biomechanics

Track Chairs: Nick EVANS (University of Southampton, UK), Gerhard SCHÜTZ (Vienna University of Technology – TU Wien, Austria)


TR08: Clinical biomechanics and computer-aided medical interventions

Track Chairs: Luca CRISTOFOLINI (University of Bologna, Italy), Michael M. MORLOCK (TUHH Hamburg University of Technology, Germany)


TR09: Computational biology

Track Chair: Liesbet GERIS (University of Liege, Belgium)


TR10: Computational methods in biomechanics

Track Chairs: Hanna ISAKSSON (Lund University, Sweden), Jerome NOAILLY (University Pompeu Fabru, Spain)


TR11: Dental biomechanics

Track Chair: Christoph BOURAUEL (University of Bonn, Germany)


TR12: Ergonomics/occupational biomechanics/rehabilitation

Track Chair: Margit GFÖHLER (Vienna University of Technology – TU Wien, Austria)


TR13: Experimental methods in biomechanics

Track Chairs: Jean-Marc ALLAIN (École Polytechnique Paliseaux, France), Kay RAUM (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany)


TR14: Fluid and respiratory biomechanics

Track Chairs: Sean MCGINTY (University of Glasgow, UK), Wolfgang A. WALL (Technsiche Universität München, Germany)


TR15: Forensic biomechanics

Track Chair: Peter ZIOUPOS (Cranfield University, UK)


TR16: Hard tissue biomechanics

Track Chair: Jeffry S. NYMAN (Vanderbilt University, USA)


TR17: Human movement

Track Chairs: Markus HELLER (University of Southampton, UK), Ilse JONKERS (KU Leuven, Belgium), Hans KAINZ (KU Leuven, Belgium)


TR18: Imaging methods

Track Chair: Greet KERCKHOFS (Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium), Francoise PEYRIN (University of Lyon, France)


TR19: Impact/injury biomechanics

Track Chair: Boyko GUEORGUIEV (AO Foundation, Switzerland)


TR20: Implants/orthotics/prosthetics/devices

Track Chairs: Paulo Rui Alves FERNANDES (IST – TU Lisbon, Portugal), João FOLGADO (Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal), Harry VAN LENTHE (KU Leuven, Belgium), Peter VARGA (AO Foundation, Switzerland)


TR21: Mechanobiology

Track Chairs: Roger D. KAMM (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA), Emad MOEENDARBARY (University College London, UK)


TR22: Micro- and nanoscale biomechanics

Track Chair: Himadri GUPTA (Queen Mary University London, UK)


TR23: Multi-scale modelling in biomechanics

Track Chairs: Ralph MÜLLER (ETH Zürich, Switzerland), Stefan SCHEINER (Vienna University of Technology – TU Wien, Austria)


TR24: Musculoskeletal biomechanics

Track Chair: María Ángeles PÉREZ ANSÓN (University of Zaragoza, Spain)


TR25: Soft tissue biomechanics

Track Chairs: Christian CYRON (Hamburg University of Technology, Germany), Michele MARINO (University of Hannover, Germany), Rene VAN DONKELAAR (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)


TR26: Spine

Track Chair: Marie-Christine HO BA THO (Université de Technologie de Compiègne, France)


TR27: Sports biomechanics

Track Chairs: Arnold BACA (University of Vienna, Austria), William R. TAYLOR (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)


TR28: Tissue engineering

Track Chairs: Liesbet GERIS (University of Liege, Belgium), Gwen REILLY (University of Sheffield, UK), Hans VAN OOSTERWYCK (KU Leuven, Belgium)